Errata for Rules in book:
The chart at the end says that when 1/2 is rolled as the minimum number of units, you divide the maximum number of units and round down to find the minimum, but you should instead round up.
Mimics can copy a power of a piece when the mimic is not the main piece, but in that case, they can only copy one power. Ie, they can copy an archer to assist, but since they are not the main piece on that phase, they can't additionally copy any other powers.
Timing on a phase:
Everything each phase usually happens at the same time, so:
- If you use a mimic, you can damage a piece and mimic it. But if you are imitating other powers, like phantom, you can't damage a piece and re-roll it on the same phase.
- If you use a commander, you can't reroll a piece more than once a phase, and you can't reroll the same commander whose power you are using.
- If you use a phantom, you can't reroll an enemy piece and damage it. And you can't reroll the same piece more than once a phase.
- If you use a necromancer, you can't kill a piece and banish it to never never land on the same phase.
- Exception: Demons can attack primary targets of double mimics, and split to do damage to something else on the same phase, if they can break up the mimic group as they do so. Because their second attack comes after the first.
Conventions for misrolls:
- If someone throws more than the allowed number of dice, his opponent chooses one and sends it to the graveyard, after initiative to go first is determined.
- If someone throws dice that are not allowed that turn because the terrain prohibits them, all those dice are sent to the graveyard after initiative to go first is determined.
- If someone throws less than the minimum number of dice, and still has dice that could be added, ie, no terrain restricted dice, then that player loses the initiative, regardless of who would have been able to go first.
Doubles power rulings:
- If you can't use any unit on your turn, you can't activate any non-passive doubles powers, but mimics primary targets still work.
- If you throw units that are not allowed, and they get doubles, their doubles power doesn't activate.
New end condition:
If someone can't roll any dice on a turn, at the start, when the are choosing dice for the round, they lose the game. This can happen because that player has no more dice, or because the only dice they have are restricted by the terrain that round.
Conventions for ending the game:
In addition to the game ending automatically when someone can't throw any dice on a turn, a player may "surrender" at two points, for a shorter game. The first point is when all four necromancers are dead. The second point is when all four mimics are dead. These are honorable concessions.
D30: Bonecrusher: any piece they kill goes to never-never land, unless it was invulnerable, then it goes to the graveyard. Doubles: send one of your active pieces to never-never land, and distribute its value x2 in damage on any pieces you want.
D24: Souldrinker: when it sends a piece to the graveyard, it may take a piece from your graveyard to your reserves that has the same number of sides or less than the piece it sent to the graveyard. Doubles: Take any piece from your never-never land into your reserves.
Bonecrusher and Souldrinker powers only work if all the damage to the enemy up to its value is from the bonecrusher or souldrinker. Therefore archers assisting these pieces don't help them use their powers. But a mimic mimicing an archer and a bonecrusher would assist to bonecrush... except that mimcs can't do that.
New Terrain Dice:
4x2, No 4, 12x 2, No 12, blank, blank
10x2, No 10, 20x2, No 20, blank, blank
6x2, No 6, 8x2, No 8, blank, blank
Non Custom Terrain Dice Chart
Back to Main page for Armies of the Dead